Tips for Managers

Encourage ethical behavior

June 1, 2014
Is your organization truly ethical from the ground up? If employees are acting unethically, it can lead to drains on your budget, employee morale and team productivity.

Managing passive aggressive behavior

June 1, 2014
People exhibit passive aggressive behavior in many ways—for example, muttering during meetings, doing things behind others’ backs, or not adhering to deadlines or commitments. Managing those behaviors can be challenging, as they are often not presented directly to you.

360-degree feedback

June 1, 2014
The 360-degree feedback method is a popular way to provide both positive and negative feedback to employees. Follow these tips to use the strategy effectively.

Boost morale with appreciation

June 1, 2014
Organizations spend lots of time and money trying to boost employee morale. A simple dose of recognition is often all you need to keep employees’ spirits up.

A better method for problem solving

May 1, 2014
Albert Einstein said ”If I had an hour to solve a problem and my life depended on the solution, I would spend the first 55 minutes determining the proper question to ask … for once I know the proper question, I could solve the problem in less than five minutes.”

Read ’em & reap: Creativity, Inc.

May 1, 2014
From Ed Catmull, co-founder of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business—sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath.

Coach employees on career goals

May 1, 2014
Managers who help their employees develop their careers are rewarded with satisfied, productive staff members who benefit the organization. Here are some ways to help people reach their potential:

Raise team spirit with ‘bio’ book

May 1, 2014
Improve the cohesiveness of your staff by creating a “Who’s Who” book about your team.

Shorten meetings

May 1, 2014
If your meetings have become too lengthy, borrow a tip from former New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg.

3 tips for managers

May 1, 2014
Manage your staff more effectively with these tips.