Tips for Managers

Create work/life balance

May 1, 2014
If you manage employees with families, they’re bound to ask you to accommodate them as they handle family obligations. Here are a few general ways to respond to such requests:

5 tips for internal communication

May 1, 2014
Follow these tips to ensure that you communicate effectively with your staff.

Deliver exceptional customer service

May 1, 2014
Remember two key elements to deliver superior customer service: respect your employees and cater to your customers.

Delegate work the right way

May 1, 2014
How you issue assignments can deter­mine how well employees understand and carry out your wishes.

3 tips for managing virtual employees

May 1, 2014
Use these tips to best manage and support your virtual team.

Keep travel costs at a minimum

May 1, 2014
When employees travel for an industry or work-related event, keep spending under control using these tips.

A better method for problem solving

May 1, 2014
Albert Einstein said ”If I had an hour to solve a problem and my life depended on the solution, I would spend the first 55 minutes determining the proper question to ask … for once I know the proper question, I could solve the problem in less than five minutes.”

Read ’em & reap: Creativity, Inc.

May 1, 2014
From Ed Catmull, co-founder of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business—sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath.

5 management mistakes

April 1, 2014
If you are new to management—or even if you have been at it for a long time—you can alienate and anger employees without even realizing it. Avoid these five communication traps.

Signs an employee is about to resign

April 1, 2014
There are usually early warning signs when someone is thinking about resigning. You may be faced with a resignation if an employee suddenly starts doing the following: